4 Advanced IT Certifications for 2019

Woman pointing to a document.

IT certifications can open doors to more and better IT jobs.

IT certifications can show employers that you have learned the necessary skills for a particular IT job. It is well-known that certifications are rigorous and require the holder to pass an exam in order to earn them. While certifications like CompTIA A+ and Microsoft Certified Network Associate (MCSA) are foundational and show basic IT skills, there are others that build on the basics and show a more advanced skill level for higher level IT jobs.

Here are some advanced IT certifications employers look for in 2019.


The Cisco Certified Design Professional certification teaches how to design, configure, and install Cisco-specific networks and requires the Cisco-Certified Network Associate (CCNA) and Cisco-Certified Design Associate (CCDA) certifications as prerequisites. This certification requires passing three separate exams, called Route, Switch, and Arch.

You will learn skills far beyond how networks work while preparing for this certification, and will be capable of designing complex, multilayer Cisco networks with routing and switching capabilities with this certification. Having the skills to handle larger networks will increase your employment opportunities and may also allow you to compete for a higher salary.


The Certified Information Systems Security Professional is an independent certification that shows advanced cybersecurity skills and experience capable of leading the security team of just about any size company. While there are no prerequisites required for CISSP, it is recommended to earn more basic certifications like CompTIA A+, Network+, and Security+ before working toward CISSP.

CISSP does require five years of experience working in computer security and endorsement by a current CISSP holder.

Computer keyboard with the enter key labeled certified.

Earning advanced IT certifications involves studying for and taking rigorous exams.

3. CySA+

Cybersecurity Analyst is a CompTIA certification that covers security analytics, intrusion detection and response. It is billed as the most up-to-date security analyst certification to cover advanced persistent threats in a post-2014 cybersecurity environment.

The CySA+ exam is given in a highly secure environment to ensure that it is valid and to protect the sensitive performance-based tasks it covers. This certification also meets Federal and U.S. Department of Defense requirements for government employment in the area of cybersecurity so that holders can pursue these jobs.

4.  CEH

Certified Ethical Hacker Certification is an ANSI-accredited certification designed to teach ethical hacking skills for the purpose of being able to counter malicious hacking attempts. To shut down malicious hackers, it is often necessary to be well-versed in the skills and methods hackers use to harm and damage businesses.

Although this certification is advanced, there are no prerequisites to earning it other than two years of experience in computer security or attendance at an EC-Council (International Council of E-Commerce Consultants) conference. Holders of an earlier CEH certification can also sit for the new exam without paying an additional fee.

Are you interested in learning more about PC Age’s certification trainings? Contact us today!