6 Essential Certifications for Network Administrators

IT courses Rameez Khizer, IT Marketing

Network administrators need certain skills to be effective, and certifications demonstrate those skills objectively.

Network administrators create networks and communications systems for organizations. They also implement and maintain those networks so they work well and achieve the organization’s technological and other goals. Some tasks of network administrators include troubleshooting and fixing network malfunctions, ensuring network security, and keeping system hardware and software up to date.

Certifications are useful for network administrators to show prospective employers their skills and capabilities. Here are some essential certifications for network administrators.

1. CompTIA A+ Certification

This is a basic vendor-neutral certification for network administrators and is used by vendors like Microsoft, Hewlett-Packard, Cisco and Novell as part of their vendor-specific network certifications. It covers security, safety and environmental issues, and communication and professionalism as part of the certification, and it ensures employers that you have the necessary skills to get started as a network administrator. Companies like CompuForm and Ricoh require A+ certification for all their network administrators.

2. CompTIA Network+ Certification

This certification builds a bit on the A+ certification. It is vendor-neutral like A+. It is also used by various vendors for their certification tracks to demonstrate skills in installing and configuring networks as well as being able to maintain them.

3. CompTIA Security+ Certification

This certification requires two years of networking experience and focuses on the security side of networking, including how to handle outside attacks, cryptography, authentication, and other industry-wide topics. As are many CompTIA certifications, it is international and vendor-neutral. Some of the biggest names in industry including Hewlett-Packard, IBM, Motorola, Symantec, Lockheed Martin, and General Mills commonly hire IT employees with the Security+ certification.

IT courses Rameez Khizer, IT Marketing

Certified network administrators are in high demand at many companies.

4. CompTIA Linux+ Certification

This certification covers networking topics within a Linux environment, which is still vendor neutral. It may be an ideal credential for those working within an Open Systems environment and does not require any experience in networking before the certification is earned. Linux+ also provides a 3-in-1 path for those who earn it: the IT professional will also receive the LPI (Linux Professional Institute) Level 1 (LPIC-1) and the Novell SUSE Desktop Support Technician certifications along with Linux+.

5. CompTIA CASP Certification

This security-related certification focuses on critical thinking and problem solving with an emphasis on cybersecurity skills rather than background knowledge. Ideal for more complex environments, this credential is more advanced than Security+ and prepares IT professionals for various security tasks within a network.

6. Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate

Focusing on the popular Microsoft operating system, this credential shows proficiency in Windows Server 2012, which is currently used by many businesses and organizations. It also requires the ability to analyze and evaluate business needs related to Microsoft solutions, along with the ability to create and maintain Windows networks.

PC AGE offers an Internetwork Engineering program with coursework that leads to all of the certifications mentioned above and trains students to become network engineers. Request info about all of our courses that lead to productive IT careers.

 Rameez Khizer, IT Marketing